Check Out This List Of First Captains From Each Team To Lift An ICC Trophy

World Test Championship (WTC) final between India and New Zealand, whoever wins they are going to create history, because this is first of its kind ICC tournament and the captain who wins will make his name etched in the memory for being the first captain to lift the World Test Championship trophy. Today we are going to have a look at the names of the first Captain to win the ICC Trophy from each team..

1. India – Kapil Dev

Kapil DevKapil Dev was the first Indian captain to win an ICC trophy. He won the World Cup in 1983.

2. West Indies – Clive Lloyd

Clive LloydThe inaugural edition of the limited-overs cricket world cup in 1975, saw the men from the Caribbean lift the trophy. Clive Lloyd was the first captain from the cricketing world to lift an ICC trophy

3. Australia – Allan Border

Allan BorderAllan Border the great Australian cricket player was the captain of 1987 world cup winning team. He was the first Australian captain to lift an ICC trophy

4. Pakistan – Imran Khan

Imran KhanNo one predicted Pakistan to win a World cup. But the almighty Imran Khan did it and he became the first Pakistani captain to win an ICC trophy.

5. England – Paul Collingwood

Paul CollingwoodPaul Collingwood is the first England captain to win an ICC trophy. He won the World T20 in 2010

6. South Africa – Hansie Cronje

Hansie CronjeThe Wills International Cup (Later renamed to become the ICC Champions trophy) of the year 1998 saw the South African cricket team, win their first ICC trophy with Hansie Cronje being the captain of the side.

7. New Zealand – Stephen Fleming

Stephen FlemingIn the year 2000, the blackcaps won the ICC Knockout Cup held in Kenya. Stephen Fleming was the first NZ captain to win an ICC trophy

8. Sri Lanka – Arjuna Ranatunga

Arjuna RanatungaArjuna Ranatunga, one of the best cricket players to have played cricket for the Sri Lankan cricket team, was the first captain to get home an ICC Trophy as he led the Sri Lankan cricket team to a phenomenal victory in the 1996 Cricket World Cup.

Who is going to win the World Test Championship?

Kohli (or) Williamson????

Kohli and Williamson

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Posts