Here’s The List Of First 20 Smart Cities. Did Your City Make It?


The concept of ‘Smart Cities’ has been in discussion for a long time now.

It was one of Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s key promises during his Prime Ministerial campaign in 2014, and finally, the Government has broken its silence on its plan to take the initiative forward.

The government has announced the list of 20 cities that will be developed as ‘Smart Cities’. As you can see from the list, metro cities weren’t taken into account. The government has mostly chosen Tier 2 cities to develop and bring them on par with the metro cities.

Interestingly, the cities were chosen on the basis of a ‘challenge’, wherein cities had to come up with their own plans and strategies on how they’d achieve the goals of being a smart city. The results were chosen on the basis of those proposals.

Did your city make it? Have a look and let us know.

Here’s the list of cities:
1.Bhubaneswar (Odisha)
2. Pune (Maharashtra)
3. Jaipur (Rajasthan)
4. Surat (Gujarat)
5. Kochi (kerala)
6. Ahmedabad (Gujarat)
7. Jabalpur (Madhya Pradesh)
8.Visakhapatnam (AndhraPreadesh)
9. Solapur (Maharashtra)
10 Davanagere (Karnataka)
11. Indore ( Madhya Pradesh)
12. NDMC (Delhi)
13. Coimbatore (Tamil Nadu)
14. Kakinada (Andhra Pradesh)
15. Belagavi (Karnataka)
16. Udaipur (Rajasthan)
17. Guwahati (Assam)
18. Chennai (Tamil Nadu)
19. Ludhiana (Punjab)
20. Bhopal (Madhya Pradesh)