From Kapil Dev To Shafali Varma: List Of Indian Captains Who Won ICC Trophies

From Kapil Dev To Shefali Varma: List Of Indian Captains Who Won ICC Trophies

Cricket is the religion of India. We grow and live on cricket. If the Indian team wins something, we all win, that’s how our spirits reciprocate with Cricket and the Indian cricket team. Indian team winning ICC trophies was once an impossible dream, but now, the time has changed, and ICC trophies are our regular companions.

From Kapil Dev in 1983 to Shefali Varma in 2023, winning ICC trophies has been nothing short of blockbuster cinema. Today, we are going to take a look at the list of Indian captains, who won ICC trophies

1. Kapil Dev – ODI World Cup, 1983

Kapil Dev, the man who made Cricket everyone’s dream. He became the first Indian captain to win the World Cup, and he is still the youngest captain(at the age of 24) to win the World Cup for any team in International Cricket.

2. Mohammad Kaif – U19 World Cup, 2000

And Kaif became the first ever U19 Indian captain to win the World Cup. And Yuvraj Singh was a part of this U19 World Cup win. Yuvi is the only player from India to win three world cups(U19, T20, 50-OVER), and in the three winning World Cups, he played a major role.

3. MS Dhoni – T20 World Cup, 2007

This is a tournament that set the tone for Indian Cricket in the coming future and the rest is history. India went into the tournament with a young side, resting all the big names, like Sachin, Dravid, Ganguly, Kumble, etc;

And MS Dhoni for the first time after two decades has brought a World Cup to India. And India became the first ever team to win the first-ever T20 World Cup.

4. Virat Kohli – U19 World Cup, 2008

The King, Virat led the Indian team in the 2008 U19 World Cup. This is the second U19 World Cup for the Indian Team.

5. MS Dhoni – ODI World Cup, 2011

The World Cup, every Indian dreamt of. It’s a billion people’s dream and the dream of God, Sachin Tendulkar. The World Cup, took Mahendra Singh Dhoni, from a fantastic captain to legendary status. The entire tournament is a high-voltage drama, you win World Cup as a team, India as a team in the 2011 World Cup >>>>>>>>>>>>>> every other Indian team in the World Cups.

6. Unmukt Chand – U19 World Cup, 2012

Unmukt Chand, the captain with his century(111 NOT OUT), made sure India lift 2012, U19 World Cup. He stood like a rock and won the World Cup.

7. MS Dhoni – Champions Trophy, 2013

By winning this, he became the only cricket captain in the world to win all three of the Cricket World Cup, ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, and ICC Champions Trophy.

8. Prithvi Shaw – U19 World Cup, 2018

Prithvi Shaw led India to the U19 World Cup win. This team was coached by Indian legend, Rahul Dravid. With this win, India U-19 became the most successful team at the junior level by winning the trophy for the record fourth time.

9. Yash Dhull – U19 World Cup, 2022

Under Yash Dhull’s captaincy, India beat England to win a U19 World Cup, for the record fifth time.

10. Shafali Verma – U19 World Cup, 2023

This win is a remarkable chapter in Indian Women’s Cricket history. The tears of joy and elation of Shafali Verma at the post-match presentation shows, what this World Cup means to Indian women’s cricket.

11. Sourav Ganguly – 2002 Champions Trophy (Joint Winners)

India and Sri Lanka were declared joint winners of the 2002 Champions Trophy, as the rain spoiled the sport.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Posts