Know Who Owns What? Telugu News Media Channels And Their Owners


Media (Press) is considered as the fourth estate of democracy. Their pivotal role being its ability to mobilize the thinking process of millions. These channels provide us with all the News & Entertainment in Telugu and here let’s know who owns what.

  • NTV

Established in the year 2007, it is known for its accuracy in projecting the election results. This channels also has a dedicated Bhakti channel .

Owner – RACHANA TELVISION PVT LTD. (Narendra  Chowdary)


  • ABN AndhraJyothi 

Launched in the year 2009, The major achievement of this channel is to expose the Governor of Andhra Pradesh ND Tiwari scandal leading to his resignation from the post of the Governor. Since this incident, the channel has been retaining good ratings. The must watch show from this channel is ” OPEN HEART WITH RK”

Owner – Vemuri Radha Krishna

  • ETV

Established in the year 1997, it is a practice in every household in the Telugu states to watch the ETV news at 9. Such is the credibility that ETV has got.

Owner – Ramoji Rao


  • TV9

Established in the year 2004, Founded by Ravi Prakash, leading a group of like minded young journalist. It was the first television channel to provide 24-hour news coverage in Telugu language in India. Famous for its show ” ENCOUNTER WITH RAVI PRAKASH”.

Presently the owner of MY HOME GROUP, Jupally Rameshwar Rao is in talks to buy this channel.

Owner : The Associated Broadcasting Company Pvt Ltd – Ravi Prakash


  • V6

It was started in the year 2012. It has become number 1 news channel especially in the new state of Telangana. The dialect and its unique way of presenting the programs has got a lot of viewers. Trending programs on this channel are TEENAMAR VARTHALU hosted by ‘Savithri’ and ‘Bithiri Sathi’. It has become popular in a very short time.

Owners: VIL Media Pvt Ltd – G Vivekananda




  • TV5

This was launched in the year 2007. News channel started by Shreya Broadcasting Pvt Ltd. stood as competitor to TV9.

Owner  : BR Naidu


  • Sakshi

Launched in the year 2008, Sakshi news paper started with an introductory price of Rs 2/- per week day which led Sakshi to become one of the top ten of regional newspapers in India. And subsequently the news channel was also formed.

Owner : Y S Jagan Mohan Reddy.


  • ZEE 24 Hours

A part of the ZEE NETWORK having a strong presence in northern and eastern India . It was launched in the year 2004 as an entertainment channel and subsequently a news channel in Telugu was also launched.

Owner : Essel Group – Dr. Subhash Chandra


  • T News

Launched in the year 2011, this channel was earlier associated with Raj news, but later started to function as an independent channel. Owner by the ruling party of Telangana. It too has a substantial viewer base.

Owners: KCR & Co.


  • HMTV

Launched in the year 2011, the channel shot to fame with its innovative show called “HMTV AP Dasa Disa” which holds discussion on the current situation of Telugu states.

Owner : Kasuganti Vaman Rao & Co.


Also Read: First Telugu News Channel To Achieve The Rarest Feat