6 South Indian Stars Who Became Chief Minister

Politics and cinema in India go hand in hand. Many actors and actresses have made a foray into the world of politics. They believe that their fans would help them succeed in power politics, and sometimes they get success as well but at the same time, many do not get success.

But if it is about South India’s politics, then the silver screen’s effect is clearly visible on power. Some of the film stars from the South have become Chief Ministers of their state.

Take a look at the film stars from the South who became Chief Ministers

1. CN Annadurai

Annadurai was an acclaimed writer in the Tamil language. He scripted and acted in several plays. Some of his plays were later made into movies. He was the first politician from the Dravidian parties to use Tamil cinema extensively for political propaganda.

Annadurai was the first Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu.

2. MG Ramachandran

MGR served as the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu from 1977 until his death in 1987.

After his death in 1987, he became the third Chief Minister from the state of Tamil Nadu to receive the Bharat Ratna after C. Rajagopalachari and K. Kamaraj.

3. Janaki Ramachandran

After the death of her husband Chief Minister MG Ramachandran, she became the Chief Minister on 23 January 1988 and worked for 23 days as the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu. She was popularly known as VN Janaki in the Tamil film industry.

4. NT Rama Rao

NTR served as Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh for seven years over three terms.

In the 1983 Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly election, TDP won by an absolute majority winning 202 out of the 294 seats in the state assembly, with NT Rama Rao himself winning both the seats he contested. Their alliance with the Sanjaya Vichara Manch fetched 202 seats. NT Rama Rao was sworn in as the 10th and the first non-Congress Chief Minister of the state on 9 January 1983 with ten cabinet ministers and five ministers of State.

5. Jayalalithaa

Jayalalithaa, popularly known as Amma. From 1991 to 2016, Jayalalithaa served as Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu for more than fourteen years over six terms between 1991 and 2016.

She is the state’s youngest chief minister, and the first woman to serve a full term.

6. M Karunanidhi

Karunanidhi was an Indian writer and politician who served as Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu for almost two decades over five terms between 1969 and 2011.

He was popularly referred to as Kalaignar and Mutthamizh Arignar for his contributions to Tamil literature. He had the longest tenure as Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu with 6,863 days in office.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Posts